Saturday, April 2, 2022

Solomon Islands PM defends controversial security agreement with China 所羅門群島總理為與中國有爭議的安全協議辯護

"ABC News (Australia)" Channel on Youtube shows that the prime minister of Solomon Islands has defended his country's pursuit of a controversial security agreement with China.

It seems that the deal has sparked fears that Beijing could set up a permanent military presence in the Solomons.

Solomon Islands is really a sovereign country consisting of 6 major islands and over 900 smaller islands in Oceania, to the east of Papua New Guinea and northwest of Vanuatu. It has a land area of 28,400 square kilometres (11,000 sq mi), and a population of 652,858. Its capital, Honiara, is located on the largest island, Guadalcanal. The Solomon Islands Country takes its name from the Solomon Islands archipelago, which is a collection of Melanesian islands that also includes the North Solomon Islands (a part of Papua New Guinea), but excludes outlying islands, such as the Santa Cruz Islands and Rennell and so-called Bellona.

The important islands have been settled since at least some time between 30,000 and 28,800 BCE, with later waves of migrants, notably the Lapita people, mixing and producing the modern indigenous Solomon Islanders population. In 1568, the Spanish navigator Álvaro de Mendaña was the first European to visit them, naming them the Islas Salomón. Mendaña returned decades later, in 1595, and another Spanish expedition, led by Portuguese navigator Pedro Fernandes de Queirós, visited the Solomons in 1606. Britain certainly defined its area of interest in the Solomon Islands archipelago in June 1893, when Captain Gibson, R.N., of HMS Curacoa, declared the southern Solomon Islands a British protectorate. During World War II, the Solomon Islands campaign (1942-1945) saw indeed fierce fighting between the United States, Commonwealth forces and the Empire of Japan, including the Battle of Guadalcanal.

The official name of the then-British administration was changed from the British Solomon Islands Protectorate to The Solomon Islands in 1975, and self-government was achieved the following year. Important independence was obtained, and the name changed to just "Solomon Islands" (without the definite article), in 1978. At independence, Solomon Islands became a constitutional monarchy. The Queen of Solomon Islands is Elizabeth II, really represented by the Governor-General.




所羅門群島實際上是一個主權國家,由大洋洲的 6 個主要島嶼和 900 多個小島組成,位於巴布亞新幾內亞以東和瓦努阿圖西北部。它的土地面積為 28,400 平方公里(11,000 平方英里),人口為 652,858 人。其首府霍尼亞拉位於最大的島嶼瓜達爾卡納爾島。所羅門群島國家得名於所羅門群島群島,該群島是美拉尼西亞群島的集合,其中還包括北所羅門群島(巴布亞新幾內亞的一部分),但不包括外圍島嶼,如聖克魯斯群島和倫內爾和所謂的貝羅納。

這些重要的島嶼至少在公元前 30,000 到 28,800 年之間的一段時間內就已經有人定居,後來的移民浪潮,尤其是拉皮塔人,混合併產生了現代土著所羅門群島人口。 1568 年,西班牙航海家阿爾瓦羅·德·門達尼亞 (Álvaro de Mendaña) 是第一個造訪它們的歐洲人,將它們命名為所羅門島。幾十年後的 1595 年,門達納返回,由葡萄牙航海家佩德羅·費爾南德斯·德·奎羅斯率領的另一支西班牙探險隊於 1606 年訪問了所羅門群島。1893 年 6 月,英國確定了其對所羅門群島感興趣的區域,當時註冊護士吉布森船長, HMS Curacoa 號宣布所羅門群島南部為英國保護國。在第二次世界大戰期間,所羅門群島戰役(1942-1945)確實見證了美國、英聯邦軍隊和日本帝國之間的激烈戰鬥,包括瓜達爾卡納爾島戰役。


No comments:

Post a Comment